À propos

The culmination of a unique achievement in modern American literature: the six volumes of autobiography that began more than thirty years ago with the appearance of I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.

A Song Flung Up to Heaven opens as Maya Angelou returns from Africa to the United States to work with Malcolm X. But first she has to journey to California to be reunited with her mother and brother. No sooner does she arrive there than she learns that Malcolm X has been assassinated.

Devastated, she tries to put her life back together, working on the stage in local theaters and even conducting a door-to-door survey in Watts. Then Watts explodes in violence, a riot she describes firsthand.

Subsequently, on a trip to New York, she meets Martin Luther King, Jr., who asks her to become his coordinator in the North, and she visits black churches all over America to help support Kings Poor Peoples March.

But once again tragedy strikes. King is assassinated, and this time Angelou completely withdraws from the world, unable to deal with this horrible event. Finally, James Baldwin forces her out of isolation and insists that she accompany him to a dinner party--where the idea for writing I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings is born. In fact, A Song Flung Up to Heavenends as Maya Angelou begins to write the first sentences of Caged Bird.

  • Auteur(s)

    Maya Angelou

  • Éditeur


  • Distributeur


  • Date de parution


  • EAN


  • Disponibilité


  • Nombre de pages

    224 Pages

  • Longueur

    21 cm

  • Largeur

    14.5 cm

  • Épaisseur

    1.5 cm

  • Poids

    246 g

  • Support principal

    Grand format

Maya Angelou

De son vrai nom Marguerite Johnson (1928-2014), Maya Angelou est une poète, écrivaine et militante du mouvement pour les droits civiques. Emblématique de la vie artistique et politique aux États-Unis, son oeuvre est aujourd'hui enseignée dans les écoles américaines, notamment Je sais pourquoi chante l'oiseau en cage (1969) et Un billet pour l'Afrique (1986), les deux plus célèbres volumes de son autobiographie. Maya Angelou est morte en 2014, à l'âge de quatre-vingt-six ans.